Jump to ContentJump to Footer

fabric presents Helena Hauff


fabric presents by Helena Hauff

Raw and pounding but polished

Remember Hauff's contribution to the Kern mix series from 2020? Well, you may be relieved to hear that this new mix is nothing like that. Kern Vol.5 was a demanding listen, an onslaught of raw Techno and Electro, pursuing all the genre facets for well over two hours; it was more like a live set than a carefully honed compilation for repeat listening, which is essentially what her fabric Presents mix is: a much more tempered set, with plenty of chuggers finely balance with well-selected peak time pleasers.

Hauff opens proceedings with her own new track Turn Your Sights Inward, paradoxically the first peak time moment (yes it starts at peak time). With its off-kilter Electro loop and wistful synth melody it flows seamlessly into dynArec's Sunken Park. It's no surprise to see Glasgow Techno gods Slam's inclusion, they never put a foot wrong. Their collaboration with Optic Nerve (part of their 2021/22 Louder Than Chaos series) adds a nice lick of gloss. The next peak comes in the form of the vocoder vocal on Tripcon II, by Yarn Init; breaking the flow and avoiding the possibility of chugging monotony, before it's heads down again. This undulating peak/chugging flow continues throughout.

The second half is a very strong selection with Hauff rolling together a trio of thumping Electro tracks, from Ement, Raavel and Granular Tears, using the mini-breakdowns in each to build tension, culminating in the exquisite Night Bus To Nowhere by Radioactive Man (a fitting tribute to Keith Tenniswood who was a major influence on Hauff's earlier career). From there we have fewer chuggers and more hooky, melodic Electro vibes. The sweet vocoder on penultimate track Save The World (MCU's Apocalypse Mix) by MicroControlUnit signals the end is nigh before a rare 1999 Autechre remix of D-Breeze's Crazy For Love completes the set. ONE MORE TUNE the crowd chants.

If you only listen to one track

Radioactiveman - Night Bus To Nowhere


Stingray 313, Radioactiveman


fabric Records

Artist website

Helena Hauff

Release date

22 Sep 2023


  1. Helena Hauff - Turn Your Sights Inward (mixed)
  2. dynArec - Sunken Park (mixed)
  3. Clarence G - Data Transfer (mixed)
  4. Slam & Optic Nerve - Machine Conflict (mixed)
  5. The Exaltics ft Paris The Black Fu - 10 Oseco Ndstill Lmidnight (Lorenz.Orx RMX) (mixed)
  6. YTP - WHAT U WANT (mixed)
  7. Turk Turkelton - Rock It (mixed)
  8. Yarn Init - Tripcon II (mixed)
  9. Signal Type - In Abyss (mixed)
  10. Illektrolab - Overdrive (mixed)
  11. Ement - Despite of time (mixed)
  12. Raavel - Wakalaka (mixed)
  13. IMOGEN - Granular Tears (mixed)
  14. Radioactive Man - Night Bus To Nowhere (mixed)
  15. FJAAK & Tobi Neumann - F-Zero (mixed)
  16. Nite Fleit - Naïve (mixed)
  17. Magda Rot - Alter Simus (mixed)
  18. MicroControlUnit - Save The World (MCU's Apocalypse Mix) (mixed)
  19. D-Breeze - Crazy For Love (Autechre Remix) (mixed)


Join 1652 daily RSS readers

What is RSS?

Follow me on Twitter 645 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong... or something

Music reviews on Techno, Electro, Ambient and Pop.

How to get your music reviewed

Check my Bandcamp profile to see what music I'm buying

discusster's collection

Automatic updates via Twitter

Follow The Letter

Finger on the Pulse

Follow our massive list of artists, labels, clubs and music-related bods on Twitter

Find me elsewhere: