Jump to ContentJump to Footer

Compy 36


Compy 36

13 recent tracks I've been loving, compiled just for you

Opening track Scratching Your Surface (Revisited) is taken from Dasha Rush's recent album Sleepstep, an album I can see appearing in my top 10 at the end of the year, it's that good. This is followed by Past Ownership, one of the best tracks from Marcel Dettman's MDR Compilation, a track by FBK (real name Kevin Kennedy). Staying with Techno we've got Running Through The Metals, a highlight from Aithale's new album Golden Thread.

A change of style next with Benedikt Frey's SH Birds; all vocoders and synths, before we take things down a notch with the sublime Blood Lust from Lake Haze (listen here)... beautiful stuff! Grab that Lake Haze track for free with the second celebratory Creme Organisation compilation. The emotive electro of Visonia's A Lonely White Wolf raises the pace again (this track from the top-notch Nausicaa EP, which is well worth getting hold of) before we swerve off on a pop tangent with the blissed-out Void by Naked. Taken from the Edinburgh-based group's recent EP Youth Mode, we get a pleasant mix of surf guitars and swelling vocals.

At The Gate by Matias Aguayo is up next, a no-nonsense house banger taken from the first of a series of four EPs the Chilean producer's been releasing on Cómeme, followed by the acid thumper Exlam, from Trickfinger, aka John Frusciante, the ex-Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist. More top Techno follows from the Zenker Brothers, with Phing, taken from their quality album Immersion.

Legowelt (Danny Wolfers) has been producing an immense amount of music recently (Anaconda Flow, Vaporware Tracks Vol. 1 (Creme 12-80), Rising Sun Systems - Oberheim Space, Surfing on Ice Cream (Seaside Houz Boys), The Immensity of Cosmic Space, Occult Orientated Crime and a bunch of sample packs from rare synthesisers) and the quality has rarely dipped! I've included Paradoxa Fermi from the Rising Sun Systems album.

The melancholic Dream, from Jam City's Dream A Garden album begins to close things out before we finish with a flourish in the shape of DJ Octopus's Purple Pills!

# Artist Track Album Time
1 Dasha Rush Scratching Your Surface (Revisited) Sleepstep 0:00
2 FBK Past Ownership MDR Compilation 4:33
3 Aithale Running Through The Metals Golden Thread 11:08
4 Benedikt Frey SH Birds Reframe 16:57
5 Lake Haze Blood Lust Crack Babies Stole My Creme Shirt 21:35
6 Visonia A Lonely White Wolf Nausicaa 25:33
7 Naked Void Youth Mode 28:33
8 Matias Aguayo At The Gate El Rudo Del House Round One 36:02
9 Trickfinger Exlam Trickfinger 40:05
10 Zenker Brothers Phing Immersion 44:54
11 Legowelt Paradoxa Fermi Rising Sun Systems - Oberheim Space 49:12
12 Jam City Proud Dream A Garden 54:16
13 DJ Octopus Purple Pills Untitled EP 59:07

Time 1:04:16. Size: 117MB. Quality: 253kbs. Download Compy 36.

Please note that only the last three compilations will be available for download, but from Compy 29 you will always be able to stream them on Mixcloud.



Join 1273 daily RSS readers

What is RSS?

Follow me on Twitter 578 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong... or something

Music reviews on Techno, Electro, Ambient and Pop.

How to get your music reviewed

Check my Bandcamp profile to see what music I'm buying

discusster's collection

Automatic updates via Twitter

Follow The Letter

Finger on the Pulse

Follow our massive list of artists, labels, clubs and music-related bods on Twitter

Find me elsewhere: