Jump to ContentJump to Footer

Compy 33


Compy 33

A new selection of pop and techno including Martyn, Legowelt, JD Twitch and Weval

Opening track Is It Me is if from Jim-E Stack's excellent album Tell Me I Belong; all tasteful electronic pop music. Which is followed by the equally tasteful Two Leads and a Computer from Dutch producer Martyn's third album The Air Between Words, punchy bass and catchy melody. Loop is from Justus Kohncke's sixth (or perhaps seventh?) album Justus Köhncke & The Wonderful Frequency Band, although my copy was taken from the top class compilation Total 14 from Kompakt.

A couple of months back, electronic pop wizard Guy Gerber teamed up with rapper Sean Combs, aka Puff Daddy and released a collaborative album entitled 11 11. It's mainly Gerber's work to be honest, with a few perfectly acceptable Puff Daddy contributions, of which Angels is a particular highlight with it's laid back disco beat and swoozy melody.

Providing a suitable contrast, some tougher beats follow with 07B, from Pattern Repeat's eponymously-titled compilation of singles, before the mood swings the other way completely with the sweetest, melodious track from Legowelt, a freebie from his website. Then comes some sullen but sweet pop music in the form of Black Night from DAMH; the new duo of Michaela Dippel (better known as Ada) and LIKE label boss David Hasert.

Next up, assertive beats soon give way to dreamy synth work from Dutch producer Aroy Dee. Blossom, taken from his recent album Sketches is best described as deeply emotive techno, my favourite. In contrast, the twinkling piano chords and gentle strings on Claude Speeed's Spectral Choir provide a moment to contemplate before the melancholic pop of Weval's Something (Live) takes grip. Sounding not unlike Moon Safari period Air, they seem perfectly at home on Kompakt. They also have a new EP out out at the end of the month: Easier EP.

I'm not sure I've heard much (if anything) from Optimo Espacio DJ Keith McIvor, aka JD Twitch, but based on the quality of Yesu, I want to hear more! This wonderful track, with it's quirky bass and subtle African rhythms and singing, is as much a surprise as it is a complete treasure, is taken from the excellent double compilation I'm Starting To Feel Ok Vol.6 on Mule Musiq - well worth investigating if you've not had a chance yet. Following in a loose African-themed manner, we have Yarada Lij, an emotional yet uplifting track from African producer Mikael Seifu. Really beautiful stuff.

Closing track Bern ends things on an optimistic note. It's another great pop track taken from I'm Starting To Feel Ok Vol.6, from German DJ and producer Phillip Lauer (also of Tuff City Kids).


# Artist Track Album Time
1 Jim-E Stack Is It Me Tell Me I Belong 0:00
2 Martyn Two Leads and a Computer The Air Between Words 5:17
3 Justus Kohncke Loop Kompakt Total 14 11:57
4 Guy Gerber, Puff Daddy Angels 11 11 18:46
5 Pattern Repeat 07B Pattern Repeat 24:11
6 Legowelt BaiaDeGuanabara (free download from Legowelt site) 31:32
7 DAMH Black Night Kompakt Total 14 38:05
8 Aroy Dee Blossom Sketches 42:06
9 Claude Speeed Spectral Choir My Skeleton 48:54
10 Weval Something (live) Kompakt Total 14 52:09
11 JD Twitch Yesu I'm Starting To Feel Ok Vol.6 58:52
12 Mikael Seifu Yarada Lij Yarada Lij 1:04:38
13 Lauer Bern I'm Starting To Feel Ok Vol.6 1:10:10

Time 1:16:44. Size: 143MB. Quality: 260kbs. Download Compy 33.

Please note that only the last three compilations will be available for download, but from Compy 29 you will always be able to stream them on Mixcloud.



Join 1230 daily RSS readers

What is RSS?

Follow me on Twitter 589 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong... or something

Music reviews on Techno, Electro, Ambient and Pop.

How to get your music reviewed

Check my Bandcamp profile to see what music I'm buying

discusster's collection

Automatic updates via Twitter

Follow The Letter

Finger on the Pulse

Follow our massive list of artists, labels, clubs and music-related bods on Twitter

Find me elsewhere: