Jump to ContentJump to Footer

Compy 40


Compy 40

An hour of downbeat Techno and Electro Pop

  1. Mod21 - Broken Things
  2. Mønic - Self Doubt Is Worthless
  3. Arad - Yarums Knee
  4. Inigo Kennedy - NGC6543 (Cat's Eye)
  5. Struction - Don’t Blame
  6. Illum Sphere - Second Sight
  7. Andy Stott - New Romantic
  8. Tuff City Kids - R.U.T.H.S.
  9. Carisma - A Las Quince La Manana
  10. Cocainejesus - Ascension Friends
  11. Odd Nosdam - Sisters (Boards Of Canada Remix)

I discovered Mod21 earlier this year through the first of Semantica's 10 year celebration releases. We begin this compilation with the atmospheric lead track from his free EP of the same name. This segues nicely into Self Doubt Is Worthless, the highlight from Mønic's recent Four Sides Of Truth EP on Tresor – moody Techno with hints of Kangding Ray. Arad injects a little pace with his mystical-sounding Yarums Knee, taken from his album Particles And Waves – the throbbing, bare-bones bass drum perfectly complimenting the eerie synth melody.

The next four tracks bring a more upbeat vibe to proceedings, beginning with the excellent NGC6543 (Cat's Eye) from Inigo Kennedy's new NGC EP (which I highly recommend). This is followed by another exquisite slice of haunting Electro from new producer Struction. Don’t Blame is one of two tracks (along with one from Djrum) on an EP entitled Struktur released on the Zenker Brother's Ilian Tape label in March this year. Next, a previous Tune of the Moment from Illum Sphere comes in the form of Second Sight, before the heavy, distorted bass on Andy Stott's New Romatic brings contrastas with previous albums Alison Skidmore once again provides top-notch vocals.

R.U.T.H.S., taken from the Underground House Research Vol 2 EP by Tuff City Kids, begins with the beat of a focused bass drum before breaking out into the catchiest melody. Argentinian duo Carisma follow with some proper Electronic Pop in the form of A Las Quince La Manana, the first of Huntleys and Palmers singles club releases.

From his album We're Worried About You, Ascension Friends is a lo-fi affair from American, self-described Vaporwave artist Cocainejesus, sporting a lovely yet incomprehensible vocal, not dissimilar to Sigur Rós. The closing track is a Boards of Canada remix of Sisters, an Odd Nosdam track from his recent album (also called Sisters). It's one of those pieces of music that you could have on repeat all day and not get bored.

Time 57mins. Size: 139MB. Quality: 320kbs. Download Compy 40.

Please note that only the last three compilations will be available for download, but from Compy 29 you will always be able to stream them on Mixcloud.



Join 1351 daily RSS readers

What is RSS?

Follow me on Twitter 547 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong... or something

Music reviews on Techno, Electro, Ambient and Pop.

How to get your music reviewed

Check my Bandcamp profile to see what music I'm buying

discusster's collection

Automatic updates via Twitter

Follow The Letter

Finger on the Pulse

Follow our massive list of artists, labels, clubs and music-related bods on Twitter

Find me elsewhere: