Jump to ContentJump to Footer

Varg - Nordic Flora Series, Part 5: Crush


Nordic Flora Series, Part 5: Crush by Varg

The Varg juggernaut continues apace with possibly the final part in the celebrated series

The fifth (and possibly last) installment in the ongoing Nordic Flora Series from Varg has hit the shops, and it's another quality endeavour. Where did #4 go, you ask? Well, it's a cassette-only release called Techno Music and is available in an extremely limited quantity, i.e. no digital release ('nuff said). Jumping directly to #5 though shouldn't confuse anyone following the series so far, like #3 (Gore-Tex City) the set-up is the same, with various contributions (from artists like AnnaMelina, Chloe Wise, Matti Bye, Christian Augustin & Henrik Söderström) sampled and woven into Varg's own rich tapestry of enthralling Ambient Techno. And while there's a dark vibe draped over the 14 tracks, it's fair to say that this is Varg's love album; virtual or real, his friends and lovers mean a lot to him, even fellow countryman Avicci, who gets a tribute in the form of closing track Final Crush (For 940524).

With many tracks composed on the move, in spare moments, with mobile devices, Varg is essentially notating his life, presenting a series of musical reflections and patterns. The more contemplative, downtempo tracks, like U Control the Ocean (Second Crush) or Vanity Lights (First Crush) ft. Ecco2k correlate to Varg's quiet moments, checking his emails, listening to voicemail messages, while in contrast, the more arresting passages, like OND_F.T.P. or Rush/Tinder represent the real-life meetings, the build-up to a night out with friends, the rush of reciprocal human affection. The filthy narratives are there for the deciphering.

The sense of experimental adventure remains with a wide range of creative sounds (tasteful airhorn! on Rush/Wickr and pure Pop melody on Blue Line 2 (112 Fridhemsplan)). The Swedish producer's knack for turning nothing into something, like Morning Star's voice message into the glorious opening track Music For Breakups, is what makes him stand out from the crowd. The only problem I have is that with any musician who maintains such a high level of artistic intrigue, the prospect of further boundary-pushing developments perpetually dangles before the senses like the proverbial carrot, and I'm afraid of dented expectations.

If you only listen to one track



Croatian Amor


Posh Isolation

Artist website


Release date

22 Jun 2018


  1. Music For Breakups ft. Morning Star07:12
  2. Rush/Tinder06:03
  3. Vanity Lights (First Crush) ft. Ecco2k01:14
  4. (+46) Placing My IPhone X Facing Up To See When U Answer My Texts04:15
  5. Stonewall Poem ft. AnnaMelina02:03
  6. U Control the Ocean (Second Crush)04:12
  7. OND_F.T.P.03:51
  8. Love Economy/Anti Police Music09:43
  9. Archive 1 "Spit Sugar Free Red Bull Into My Mouth" ft. Chloe Wise, Matti Bye, Christian Augustin & Henrik Söderström09:54
  10. Blue Line 2 (112 Fridhemsplan) ft. AnnaMelina & Vanity Productions05:44
  11. Rush/Wickr04:48
  12. Archive 2 "Dm Excerpts Between @skaeliptom & @chloewise_”03:24
  13. 5 Stars & Vanity Lights ft. Ecco2k04:20
  14. Final Crush (For 940524)


Join 1310 daily RSS readers

What is RSS?

Follow me on Twitter 574 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong... or something

Music reviews on Techno, Electro, Ambient and Pop.

How to get your music reviewed

Check my Bandcamp profile to see what music I'm buying

discusster's collection

Automatic updates via Twitter

Follow The Letter

Finger on the Pulse

Follow our massive list of artists, labels, clubs and music-related bods on Twitter

Find me elsewhere: