TheLetterElectronic Music Guide

Compy 39
Like this? Click to vote!

This new compilation is like an addendum to Compy 38, which was a kind of best of 2015 selection. So, while Compy 38 brought you ambient, not ambient, Compy 39 brings you some tuneful Techno (mostly) from last year. Taking in just nine tracks, it's a short and sweet affair that includes Delta Funktionen, Answer Code Request and Paranoid London.

Wasteland is the melodic, opening and title track from Delta Funktionen's second album and opens this compilation too. If you like your Techno, Detroit-style, with a twist of Electro, then Dutchman Niels Luinenburg delivers precisely this; such a good album! Then we have Calm Down, more beautifully tasteful Techno from Answer Code Request, taken from his recent EP of the same name. Patrick Gräser is quietly becoming a serious force to be reckoned with in Techno circles... really looking forward to the next album.

From the superb FREE compilation There Is No Authority But Yourself - 15 Years Creme Organization (Part 1), Dark Room 4 Dance by Portuguese producer IVVVO epitomises Techno Pop perfectly, with a joyful three minute blast of thumping beats; very addictive stuff. Direct competition follows in the form of Conjunct/Empathy, another pop-length track, this time from CW/A (Clockwork + Avatism), who produced one of my favourite albums from last year: Words Unspoken, Acts Undone.

Mysterious Russian? Dutch? producer Gesloten Cirkel does little wrong when it comes to knocking out emotive, heart-pumping beats; Chasing Away The Night is a monster track taken from M-012, one of two must-have EPs he produced last year. Now, for some cool dudes, the Paranoid London album (of the same name) is old hat (as it was released on vinyl-only in 2014) but for the rest of us we only recently discovered their no frills acid bangers after they decided to release it on digital for the first time! Woo-hoo!

Another track that actually came out in 2014 is Krusty Dreams from Kettenkarussell. I've included this track because the album it came from (Easy Listening) grew on me immensely throughout 2015 and deserves some special love recognition. UK techno legends B12 (actually just Steve Rutter these days) produced a sublime EP last year entitled Bokide 325. They followed this up recently with another five tracks of melodic and melancholic Techno on Orbiting Souls. Nautilus Horizon is spooky and beautiful.

And, as many of you will know, in 2015, Aphex Twin uploaded lots of amazing music to his Soundcloud. 18 ssbA was one of his best.


  1. Delta Funktionen - Wasteland
  2. Answer Code Request - Calm Down
  3. IVVVO - Dark Room 4 Dance
  4. CW/A - Conjunct/Empathy
  5. Gesloten Cirkel - Chasing Away The Night
  6. Paranoid London - Light Tunnel (feat Mutado Pintado)
  7. Kettenkarussell - Krusty Dreams
  8. B12 - Nautilus Horizon
  9. Aphex Twin - 18 ssbA

Time 51mins. Size: 124MB. Quality: 320kbs. Download Compy 39.

Please note that only the last three compilations will be available for download, but from Compy 29 you will always be able to stream them on Mixcloud.

Compy 39